Reflections

Here is a project stimulated by a commission for corporate art in a boardroom with black walls – very stylish.  The client sent me a thumbnail of an idea and asked what I could do.  But he wanted it BIG – no…

BIG!!!!

So I hauled out some large sheets of Fabriano and a squirrel hair mop (love that mop) and did a test run.

This was the first one:

Reflections#1-D
This is watercolour on 300gm Fabriano (about 1000x700mm)

Well that was OK.  No!  I think this is ‘mighty fine’ as they used to say at South Pork.  It is a bit Mauve but it was quite pleased with this.  I tried to recreate a feeling of trees on the banks.

 

Then I did this one:

Reflections#2-D

This is watercolour on 300gm Fabriano (about 1000x700mm)

I used a tube of Daniel Smith mauve with mica in the sky and foreground wash to create a slight schiller – but it is very under-played.  Mmm – I like this one too.

 

Then I did this one:

Reflections#3-D

This is watercolour on 300gm Fabriano (about 1000x700mm)

This one – yeah it is quite fine.

 

Then bought some sheets of italian paper and did this one:

Reflections#4-d

This is watercolour on 300gm some other Italian Paper which I need to identify  and is  (about 1000x700mm).

The paper was not that well sized so the watercolour soaked in.  Not so nice to work on.  But it all worked out OK in the end.

 

And this:

Reflections#5-D

Italian paper 550gm and very nice to work on.

This was such fun to do.

Then I went out and bought more Fabriano and did this:

Reflections#6-D

This is watercolour on 300gm Fabriano (about 1000x700mm)

Eeee!  I see I took the picture before it was dry – this is what happens late at night.

 

And here is the last one I did:

Reflections#7-D

This is watercolour on 300gm Fabriano (about 1000x700mm).

I have one more sheet – what should I do with that?

7 thoughts on “Reflections

  1. These are beautiful! I agree with Margaret about adding more mountains to your next sheet (unless you’ve painted it already of course). Have you considered overlapping mountains in thinner layers for a more ghostly, abstracted effect? I dunno, just a suggestion :3

    • Hi VK – thanks – I think some redesign is in order just as you and MPB suggest – I was sticking to the brief from a client. I think I may turn them over and cut them in half to try some other approaches. More mountains and some REDS could be cool – or rather – HOT – all the best your side

Leave a Reply

