Road to Ladybrand

Ladybrand-Road-August-2015-D

Watercolour on 300gm Arches 180x280mm

When I work in Lesotho I like to take a side-road to the main road back to Bloemfontein.  A pretty drive on a dirt road to the town of Ladybrand.  In August last year I found a termite mound next to the road and painted this painting.

In February this year I did further work in Lesotho and on my return found the same termite mound and did a watercolour of the same scene.  But in Summer.  It had been a difficult time and it was wonderful to sit listening to larks and the sighing breeze.  And here is what I did:

Ladybrand road

Here is my termite mound:

Ladybrand-Road-feb2016-3-D

 

Here is my sketch:

Ladybrand-Road-feb2016-1-D

 

And here is my first wash:

Ladybrand-Road-feb2016-2-D

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

