Newlands Forest Stream

Here is a watercolour I did sitting with my back to a comfortable rock in a stream in Newlands Forest on Saturday.

NewlandsForest20150228D

This is watercolour on 300gm Arches Cold Pressed and is about 280 x 380mm

Whoosh, what a week that was!  High highs – I had a major break-through with a client after years of work, I ran the evening run at Alto wine farm  (3kms up and 3kms down) and enjoyed a pleasant evening with my family and friends AND won a bottle of wine for being the oldest runner, which is hilarious.  The older guys had already gone home I think.  And Low-lows. I also had dealings with two boys who stood out as quite the worst people with whom I have ever had dealings as a business coach.  Ai!  Such vitriole!   This was an interaction full of very useful and painful learning for which I am grateful to God.

On Saturday my wife, Aura had taken Ethan, my son to a university open day when Sinead my daughter was invited to join her friends at the market at Helen Zille’s residence.  This market apparently had lost access to the public space in which they operated and our premier of the Western Cape just invited them to continue their Saturday trading in the garden of Leeuwenhof, her official residence.  Which I think is quite cool.

Anyway.  I knew I would have a few hours to wait so I took my watercolour and camp stove and took a walk in the forest, my old stomping ground.

I found a comfortable rock on which to rest my back and painted.newlands20150228DAnd then I took time to sketch out the rocks and capture the colour and texture.  I would like to have accentuated the dark pattern between the rocks a little more but there you are.

While I was painting, a guy came hopping down the river course.  He stopped to chat for a minute, showing me a very competent self-portrait he had done recently in acrylics.  A pleasant meeting.  And then he left.

And that is the story.  I did not make tea but enjoyed long drinks of the sparkling mountain water.

I have just read a posting shared by my friend Rae about 9 ways to stop absorbing the negative emotions of others.  Number 9 includes:

Create and maintain a haven for disengagement. Leave many paths open that lead to communing with the resonance of nature. Returning to your rightful home as a creature of nature switches off your victim mentality and recharges you energetically and spiritually.

  •    …
  •     Step onto the quiet of a forest path or absorb the coolness of a gently babbling brook from beneath a weeping willow.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Newlands Forest Stream

  1. I was wondering what you’ve been up to. Nice watercolour, as always. I spend a lot of time wandering around in the woods pursuing my hobby of birding. It’s always soothing and restoring; even in the middle of our brutal winter.

    • Are you guys having a tough Winter? Ai! good for you for going out – birding is a wonderful thing to do. I saw two raptors in the forest – one was a big guy though I don’t know what it was. I can understand the soothing and restoring part – are you planning a watercolour trip in Spring? We had the hottest day in a century or something here today – but maybe I shouldnt make too much of that (o: – I am definitely a Summer sort of person

Leave a Reply

