Sollie

Here is my painting of Sollie the car-guard at The Pipe.

Sollie who guards the cars while we surf

Sollie who guards the cars while we surf

This is 420 x 290mm on 300gm Hahnemeulle.

I had just chatted to Herman van Zyl our atomic-powered chairman of WCAS – the local art society.  He reminded me of my demo on 15 November.  Not that I needed reminding.  This has been keeping up nights practicing.  Anyway I went straight down the beach and asked Sollie to sit for me.  This was about 20 minutes.  Then we got rained out.  In fact the rain washed his whole face away so I touched it up back in the studio.

Portraits from life are the best fun – now I want to get my technique up to scratch.  And for that I have about 30 years if God spares me and tarries.  I will try to steal a march on this over the next 50 days.

2 thoughts on “Sollie

    • Well it is one way to be loose. On Friday I found a painting I did a Victoria Falls where the wind changed and the spray fell and washed the whole sheet almost clean.

Leave a Reply

