Restaurant

A couple of weeks ago I had lunch with my Aura and Calvin at a Restaurant where there was a corner with a beautiful yellow glow.  Here is how I have tried to recreate this in watercolour:

 

Restaurant2-6D

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is watercolour on 300gm Arches Hot Pressed and is 560x380mm.

Here is the painting process.

First the initial attempt to get the colours and values about right:

yellow glow yelo-2 yelo-3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then I started with a more detailed drawing, taking account of the characters in the photos I had taken.

Restaurant2-1D

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is the first wash.  I put Alizarin Crimson under the places where I was going to put cooler darks so that there would be a warm glow below the cool.

Restaurant2-2D

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is the first detail.  Too tentative I fear.

Restaurant2-3D

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Darker washes in the background

Restaurant2-4D

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And here I put in the foreground darks.

Restaurant2-5D

Leave a Reply

