Doug and family

Here is a picture of my friends Douglas and Alicia with their two sons:

2013-04-27 14.48.13This is on a full sheet of Arches 300gm Cold Pressed (760×560 mm)

Three weeks ago as I was cycling down to the surf competition Douglas called me.  He said he was bringing his 60th birthday celebration forward (to today) because he was dying of cancer, and would Aura and I like to join them.  We had a brief chat and that was that – later I spoke to Alicia on e-mail and said I would like to do a portrait of Douglas – so she sent me a photo.  I did the drawing the next Friday evening:

2013-04-26 19.37.30The next day I worked hard on my consulting business as the next week was going to be busy.  Later that afternoon I found an e-mail from Alicia saying the Douglas has passed away that morning.  This is so sad.  I resolved to complete the painting anyway.  Today they held a get-together on the rocks at Bakoven Beach where we met to remember Douglas.  I gave the painting to Sisipho on the rocks.

I spent last night and this morning working on the painting.  Here are the steps.

2013-04-26 22.40.23 2013-04-26 23.19.33 2013-04-27 11.30.07 2013-04-27 12.49.53

 

 

2 thoughts on “Doug and family

Leave a Reply

