Longboard Surf Classic at The Pipe

Calvin and I entered the family tag division again this year.  He surfed really well but I surfed like a moegoe.  So we made it through the first round but not the second.

On the first day I did this painting:

2013-04-13 16.41.10

This is 190x280mm on Arches 300m Cold Pressed.  I donated it to the prize giving.

On the second day (yesterday) I did this one:

2013-04-14 15.37.29This is on a half sheet of Arches 380×560 mm on 300gm Arches Rough.

It was a lot of fun doing this but it took a long time.  People move around a lot so I had to paint the figures as they were.  I asked Ann and her friend the photographer to stand and chat in the left foreground which they kindly agreed to do.  It was quite warm so I had to keep wetting my palette.  An umbrella would have been good except that the wind picked up at one point and that would have just been one more thing to control.

I am going to post the first on the World Wide Sketch Crawl site:

 

 

Leave a Reply

