Sinead – 4

Here is the latest version of my portrait of Sinead.

Sinead20130107-4

This is 380 x 280 mm on Arches Hot Pressed, which is a nice smooth surface on which to work.

I really want to get this right – with each version I reflect and review my process and the outcome, I read around a different approach, I work out a different way of working and then I give it a go again.  Good learning process.

Here is the sketch:

Sinead20130107-4-1I spent ages tweaking and getting the angles right – all this measuring with a pencil stuff.  Everything has to be right for a likeness.  Anyway I am going to leave this for the night and relook tomorrow.

Here is the first stage:

Sinead20130107-4-2

 

I actually like this better than the finished painting.  Fresh, un-worked is good.

 

2 thoughts on “Sinead – 4

Leave a Reply

