Lunch with Simon

Here is the drawing I did of the sermon where Jesus had lunch with Simon the Pharisee and the woman came in and washed his feet with tears and poured a bottle of perfume over them.

I think she intended to slip in and pour the perfume and slip out but Jesus was such a loving person and I think one look from him or at him convicted people of who they were and how they were living and she broke down and caused what became quite a scene.

Drawing I did above was on a big chart of flip chart papers joined together.  I did a fine pencil sketch in preparation and inked in with a thick khoki during the sermon.

It was modelled by my daughter Sinead who who was in Matric at the time.

I still have it somewhere.

Later I did a painting of the same scene:

This painting is smaller.  It is watercolour on 300gm Arches and is about 300x300mm.

11 thoughts on “Lunch with Simon

  1. Hello Stephen – Could I use your image as the background for my church’s worship slides this week? Our pastor is preaching on this passage this week and I think it’d be a beautiful image to have behind our song lyrics.

  2. Hello Stephen,
    Please could I use your painting of the woman washing Jesus’ feet for an event we have running in our church in a few weeks? If so, would you be able to send a high resolution image that we could print? The event is a series of reflective prayer stations journeying through events of holy week. Many thanks, Jo

Leave a Reply

