Tau Lodge

Sometimes my work takes me to interesting places.  I have just been with a team at Tau Lodge on the Botswana border.  We worked really hard but did take some time for a game drive on the Saturday afternoon, seeing some impala, zebra and elephant. We also watched a group of Cape Hunting Dogs set off on their evening hunt, which was interesting:

Early the next morning as I lay in bed I heard a Hyena whooping so went out to sit on my little verandah looking out on the pan in front of the lodge.  It was very cold (for us anyway) and I had flu but it was so beautiful watching the bush in the moonlight – drinking hot-chocolate.  Later in the moonlight I saw an animal moving away but my eyes are so vrot I could not see what it was.  Anyway, as the sun came up I did a little painting, well a start at least.  I had to rush off for a quick breakfast before starting the day’s session.

I did take some photos and intend to do some more – it was so good to be back in the bushveld, something we don’t have in the Cape.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Tau Lodge

    • Hi Leslie – it was beautiful there. Yes I took the photo with my little mik-n-drik camera. We were on those landrovers with seats stacked up the back. This morning woke up thinking how I should paint them – I took a few so I must make some time. The dogs walked along the fence a while – very focused on their hunt then we left them. Then we drove a while and stopped for sundowners and snacks – as one does in these things. We heard some lions grunting far away. The guide said they could not get over the fence though it was only about six feet high. He said they can be seen looking through the fence at the cattle on the other side. The next day when we left we stopped off and took some photos and I walked up to the fence from the other side – but then I thought maybe not such a good idea – lions can jump very high. I am doing my business in light and colour presentation and have to paint and practice my presentation now. So – at least I am putting brush to paper. I hope you have a great Wednesday your side. S

  1. those dogs look scary. What were the dogs hunting for? I would have LOVED to see impala, zebra and elephant. Some day……..

    Lovely sketch, slightly different than your usual palette I think, but the tree shapes in yellow on the ground are very interesting.

    Nice to see that you’ve picked up the brush again. We missed your work.

    • Hi Carol – yes it has been too long. Well – I am back – for now.
      The bush was quite dry, with typical yellowed grass.
      There were some greener leaves in the trees but I did not get to them – something for a studio version.

      The dogs story I find quite sad. They trot in single file sniffing and stopping to listen from time to time. See their huge ears. They hunt like wolves, chasing their prey down and disemboweling it on the run. They tackle large antelope, apparently some packs even hunt buffalo. They have the second highest weight to power of bite ratio of any mammal. They latch onto their prey as it runs and tear off flesh and skin. They have to eat really fast because hyenas and lions who hear the kill happening get there really fast and chase them off their prey.

    • As far as I know there are no recorded cases of people being attacked by these dogs – but my knowledge here is limited. I guess if you ended up in the wrong place at the wrong time that could be it.

    • Yes – it is quite a grounding thought that to most other species we are viewed as food. There is a crowd who take people game-viewing on mountain bikes in the Kruger National Park – they call themselves “Meals on Wheels”.

Leave a Reply

