Sketching at CJ’s

Whenever I can make it, I meet on Thursday mornings with a group of guys from my church at CJ’s, to study the bible.  We are currently going through the Genesis which you may imagine makes for interesting discussion.  We usually sit in a little lounge area inside.  There is an eclectic group of regulars who sit on the tables outside.  They are mostly smokers as there is now a law prohibiting smoking in restaurants here in SA.  But there are some really interesting looking characters.
Yesterday I facilitated a hectic workshop with a group.  It is such a beautiful thing to see a group move from widely diverging ideas and feelings to alignment and trust, through conversation.  I love this work.  There was one rather arrogant person who tried to disrupt the workshop process, which was a bit of an energy sink but it was a long, hard and fulfilling day.
When  I got to CJ’s it seemed that I was the only one in our group.  I felt drained so I went to sit outside with a Latte.
It really is time that I took my sketching out on the street so I sat and sketched the people at the other tables.  The two guys at the top were praying together.  Well I thought at least they would be nice and still.  But as I looked up from that point, they were already walking out.  It was so quick!
So I drew Anton, who turned to chat and ask me who I was.  Nice hey?  He restores furniture.  Man! I have deep respect for anyone who work with wood.  And his comment was “We can do anything with wood”.   I love that confidence.
In this next sketch he was slouched over chatting with his friend.
Then he also got up…
Wheeesh – I have many comments to catch up on – it has been a very busy week so far and this is my first chance to sit and catch up.  So let me get to it.  Thanks everyone for saying hi – here I come.

Whenever I can make it, I meet on Thursday mornings with a group of guys from my church at CJ’s, to study the bible.  We are currently going through the Genesis which you may imagine makes for interesting discussion.  We usually sit in a little lounge area inside.  There is an eclectic group of regulars who sit on the tables outside.  They are mostly smokers as there is now a law prohibiting smoking in restaurants here in SA.  But there are some really interesting looking characters.
Yesterday I facilitated a hectic workshop with a group.  It is such a beautiful thing to see a group move from widely diverging ideas and feelings to alignment and trust, through conversation.  I love this work.  However there was one person who felt it was her duty to criticise the process we had agreed.  My friend Arthur Gobey who also does this work say that some people just have no manners.  What a rude arrogant approach.  It is really not that difficult to disrupt a workshop process.  In the end I decided that she was just not a very nice person.  But this sometimes throws me and drains my energy.  Anyway that is my unload.  So I woke up exhausted this morning.
When  I got to CJ’s it seemed that I was the only one, so I went to sit outside with a Latte.
It really is time that I took my sketching out on the street so I sat and sketched the people at the other tables.  The two guys at the top were praying together.  Well I thought at least they would be nice and still.  But as I looked up from that point, they were already walking out.  It was so quick!  So I drew Anton, who turned to chat and ask me who I was.  Nice hey?  He restores furniture.  Man! I have deep respect for anyone who work with wood.  And his comment was “We can do anything with wood”.   I love that confidence.
In this next sketch he was slouched over chatting with his friend.

Then he also got up…
Wheeesh – I have many comments to catch up on – it has been a very busy week so far and this is my first chance to sit and catch up.  So let me get to it.  Thanks everyone for saying hi – here I come.

Leave a Reply

