Yasmin

My Italian friend, Yasmin, from Facebook graciously allowed me to use one of her profile photos to do a figure study.  I was attracted by her graceful arms and hands and asked if it would be OK.   “Per favore mi dai il permesso di dipingere alcuni studi ad acquerello figura dalle tue fotografie”  (Please will you give me permission to paint some watercolour figure studies from your photographs).   To which she replied “Ciao Stephen,  io ti do il permesso di dipingere utilizzando le mie foto, a patto che tu poi mi faccia vedere gli studi. Sai, anch’io dipingo e apprezzo vedere i lavori degli altri artisti…  (I give permission to paint using my photos, as long as you then show me the studies.  You know, I paint and I like to see the work of other artists).

Here is the first painting I did:

This is on 300g Arches Cold Pressed and is 280x190mm.

I then started another painting of Yasmin on Arches Hot Pressed (also 300g).  I love the way the colour moves around on the surface and then all of sudden settles.  It has a completely different feel from the cold pressed.  Here is what I did:

this is 560 x 380mm.  I tried to get her right hand to project and the blue in her dress to glow.   Her comments was very encouraging: “E’ davvero splendido….grazie!!!!!!! Mi piace moltissimo.”  That doesn’t need translation.

What is with all the Italian?  My wife Aura is Italian and has an Aunt (my age) who phones to chat from time to time and I am always frustrated that after all this time I still do not speak the language.  Earlier this year I took a dual citizenship and am now ITALIAN!!!  So – no more excuses.   So now, instead of vegetating and getting frustrated in the traffic, I listing to “Learn in Car – Italian”.  I now have phrases like “Era molto forte quando ero giovane” going round in my mind (you were very strong when you were young) – and other critically important stuff like that.

6 thoughts on “Yasmin

  1. These are gorgeous, Stephen. I remember how you talk of Charles Rid and what he teaches. I do believe you are carrying through consistently with his advice. These are very Reid-like. The spontaneity of brush stroke and color is superb. Hot press has a look and feel all its’ own, I agree.

  2. Both of these are beautifully painted. My favorite is the second on the hot press – I get a real sense of her holding up her skirt and, perhaps, dancing? Love the flowery background and the vignetting, too. You know how to paint!

    • Hi Rhonda
      Thanks for making a turn this side and leaving a friendly, supportive message. She was twirling in the flowing dress next to a wall covered in creepers that were turning to orange and red. I see you are painting water-lilies, and doing some nice work. They are hard. I think it is all the green, the dark water in the background and the reflections. All the best

  3. Hi Stephen, beautiful portraits as usual. I am so interested in the difference between the hot press and cold press paper. I think I like the hot press one better, but both are fabulous.

    • Hi Carol
      Hot press has a completely different experience and I was initially frustrated by how hard it is to get a smooth wash – but it is wonderful for small swatches of colour and I am enjoying it a lot. You may find it works nicely for the kind of work you are doing. By the way I looked all over your latest painting but for the life of me I could not see the water-tower – (o:

Leave a Reply

