Urban Retreat

Here is a painting I did in the Little Karoo, taking a different route home from George.

This is painted on a half sheet of Arches Cold Pressed (560 x 380mm).

I would like to do it again, with a little more aerial perspective, softening the background hills.  But there it is.

Sunday morning dawned freezing and wet in Ebb and Flow.  I prepared everything in my tent, rushed around in the rain to get it packed then struck  the tent and dumped in the back of the bakkie (a pick-up).  After a shower I hopped in and drove out.  The main route to Cape Town was very busy with people returning from school holidays, extended to allow for the Soccer World Cup event.  I thought this would be too dangerous in the rain so headed up over the Outeniqua pass towards Oudtshoorn.  There was sleet falling in big blobs as I went over the pass and the higher peaks were covered in snow.  It was very beautiful.   Oudtshoorn was the center for the Ostrich industry a couple of centuries ago, where massive fortunes were made.  The town has some of the most magnificent homes.

Anyway I did not tarry and headed on Route 62, through the Little Karoo.  On the way through Ladismith I took a diversion to drop in friends of mine who runs a guest farm on the border of the Anysberg, halfway between Ladismith and Montague, Urban Retreat.   Clever name hey?  Urban is Jane’s husband.  It was very beautiful and I had time for a quick painting before hitting the dirt road to Montague and home.

I have also posted this on my website.

4 thoughts on “Urban Retreat

  1. It looks so sunny, I can’t think that there would be rain, sleet and snow here. Lovely painting and the clouds are just right – dynamic and full of movement.
    I had a mentor who said that if you couldn’t get the sky right, you might as well chuck the painting. You got the sky right!
    K

    • Hey that is so good to hear – I enjoyed the sky – I was standing out in the open but then the rain came down as you can see in the blotches in the sky so I retreated onto the stoep to finish.

Leave a Reply

