Touw River in July

I was up in George with clients over the last weekend.  I had a meeting on Friday afternoon and spent the morning on the Giant Kingfisher Trail painting the river.  It was a beautiful blustery morning following a night of hot dry winds in front of an approaching cold front.  I had a great morning filming my walk-in, set up and painting process.  All this work has been lost but here is the painting.

This was painted on a half sheet of Arches Rough (560 x 380 mm).  It has a beautiful tooth.  Because it was so thick the page curled off my board as I painted, in the hot dry wind.

I arranged to meet my good friends Ted and Sue at the best Pizza place in the Southern Cape (yep – Pomodoro – man, that quattro stagioni…). However let me not digress…  I had a few minutes before my meeting so I went back up the trail and painted a smaller painting of the river, as the Knysna Loeries swooped back over the river to nest.  They were so gracious and welcoming the last few trips that I wanted to give them a painting.  I will post a photo of the painting when I get an update.  OK here it is:

That evening in Wilderness someone broke into my car and stole my camera and rucsac with all my hiking gear, including my MSR stove and precious pots from my old trangier stove.  What a blow!  What an attack on my dream!

The next day, while I was facilitating my workshop in George, the cold front arrived.  That night I walked up the Giant kingfisher trail in the fading light and the misty rain.  Later I crawled into my tent in the pouring rain.  Two people had generously offered me beds in their homes.  But I love camping in the rain.  I lay in my warm sleeping bag (at least this had not been stolen), listening to the rain drops on my tent and the muted night sounds from the surrounding forest.   What bliss!

Leave a Reply

