last weekend at ‘Beddies’

As I get into my reading for my research I am spending less time painting. This is unfortunate but I hope to be able to take some time out to paint. Last weekend we spent a night with our friends at Betty’s Bay. Another relaxing evening. The winter swell is hitting the Cape and I went out with Calvin and Jonty but was too chicken to catch any waves because they were peaking and closing out so fast. Our break at the pipe was a little easier and I had time to ride some monsters this week (for me anyway). But while in Betty’s I had a chance to paint one watercolour. And I took a video though I have not had a chance to edit it and will more than likely wait until I can do something better before I take the time to post another video on YT. Here is the painting which I left with our gracious hosts:

I was not so wild about the end result and this past week got to hectic to reflect on this so here it is now.

And here is a photo Sinead took while I was drawing.  It shows how I place the video camera on a tripod in front of me.  I still have to get used to working more at arms length – like Alvaro – this I feel can only be a GOOD thing – heh heh

13 thoughts on “last weekend at ‘Beddies’

  1. Stephen, I really like the shadows on the side of the mountains and the clouds in the sky. The colors are wonderful.

    And I love, love, love the picture of you standing at your easel. Don’t you look like a distinguished gentleman!

    • Looks cool hey – don’t you enjoy the hand in the pocket? Oh my… thanks for the comments on the painting – I used a Mop which makes it much quicker – not so much dabbing – splish splash –
      the bush is Fynbos which is a mixture of plants with huge variation in greens and blues and I still need to figure out how to capture this – cheers hey – I hope you are painting away

  2. Beautiful post again,dear friend! 🙂
    I like your new watercolor!
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and photo with you with us!! 🙂

    Enjoy your week-end! 🙂

  3. I like your painting. Looks windy and like the tree is pointing to the mountains. I dare say I would be uncomfortable working around a tripod. You handle it like a pro! You are a PRO!

    • Hi Linda – thanks for this – it is such a beautiful place – the tree is a Protea – they taken on a kind of agonised twist and the Sugar Birds live off the nectar in their flowers

Leave a Reply

