Saturday morning at the Pipe

The waves were really small at the pipe.  Calvin and I went down early to have a surf before Calvin had to coach a class at 09:00.  He didn’t even want to use my longboard.   So I sat and painted the mountains over Gordons Bay.

20091003-pipe1d

I still had some time because I decided to wait for Calvin to finish.  So I did this view.  I was sitting near the path so lots of people stopped to chat and look at my work.  This is quite fun.  But I lost concentration when I was doing the sea so it became a bit of a mess.

Here is a framework I had in mind as I did the first one:

  1. “Approach each critical task with an explicit goal of getting much better at it.
  2. As you do the task, focus on what’s happening and why you’re doing it the way you are.
  3. After the task, get feedback on your performance from multiple sources. Make changes to your behaviour as necessary.
  4. Continually build mental models of your situation – your industry, your company, your career. Enlarge the models to encompass more factors.
  5. Do these steps regularly, not sporadically. Occasional practice does not work.”

20091003-pipe2D

It was really hot – I got a little burnt – what a pleasure – then class came up from the surf and I felt an urge for a waffle – Mugg and Bean make the best round here – so Calvin and I joined the crush at the mall – so there.

6 thoughts on “Saturday morning at the Pipe

  1. hey thanks Leslie – I was considering an article about how to build talent or something – I will get the ref. I have it on my weekly planner – which I have not used so much this year because it has been so busy. I set out from the start to get each stroke right – takes a lot of concentration – and perhaps it is an unattainable goal – but worthy – have a great day your side – S

  2. I simply love your paintings from the beach. This one i no exception.. I loooong to go to a place like that. I didn’t go to the beach all summer because of the bad weather.. 😦

    • Hi Deva – yes Saturday was just lovely though it started out windy – they are predicting a windy summer – el nino stuff – but we shall see – have a great week
      S

  3. I, like Deva, didn’t get to go to the beach all summer either, so I love to look at the paintings of the Pipe and wish I was there! (Without the sharks.)

    Another beautiful Pipe painting.

    • Cool thanks hey – I love it at the beach – I grew up inland and have never lost the thrill of seeing the sea. Sometimes we hear seagulls around the house and I always find the sound so evocative. S

Leave a Reply

