another watercolour at the pipe and a story

Tonight I took the boys down for a surf.   I chose not to go in and decided to sit and paint where I sat the last time.  It was a beautiful sunny still afternoon.  I sketched the mountains and began to paint but soon got into trouble.  The light was changing very fast so that every time I looked up there was a different picture.  Then I made a mess and dumped my first attempt:
Now that I look at it I think it was going somewhere but I decided to tape a fresh page and start again.
I got this far:
Then a friend of mine came up to chat.  And she told me an interesting story.  She had been on the farm Driehoek (Drie is three and hoek is a corner = triangle) which is just down the valley from where I had spent my first night in the Cedarberg.   And she told me that Cape Nature Conservation had caught a leopard that had caught some turkeys and a goat, and had released it in the Welbedacht ravine on the afternoon before I arrived.   Interesting how the connections happen hey?  Anyway – as a result I did not finish the second painting although it was just getting interesting.

Tonight I took the boys down for a surf.   I chose not to go in and decided to sit and paint where I sat the last time.  It was a beautiful sunny still afternoon.  I sketched the mountains and began to paint but soon got into trouble.  The light was changing very fast so that every time I looked up there was a different picture.  Then I made a mess and dumped my first attempt:

20090719pipe1-D

Now that I look at it I think it was going somewhere but I decided to tape a fresh page and start again.  The splatters are from the second effort – this was lying next to me on the beach.

I got this far:

20090719pipe2-D

Then a friend of mine came up to chat.  And she told me an interesting story.  She had been on the farm Driehoek (Drie is three and hoek is a corner = triangle) which is just down the valley from where I had spent my first night in the Cedarberg.   And she told me that Cape Nature Conservation had caught a leopard that had caught some turkeys and a goat, and had released it in the Welbedacht ravine on the afternoon before I arrived.   Interesting how the connections happen hey?  Anyway – as a result I did not finish the second painting although it was just getting interesting.

6 thoughts on “another watercolour at the pipe and a story

  1. I like the first one, with the pencil marks showing.

    The leopard probably only coughed at you because it had a full belly. Hmm! There’s extreme painting and then there’s extremely extreme.

    • Thanks June – I also like that one – isn’t it great to present here and get this kind of feedback for reflection – I am keen to create paintings like this.

      I walked up the same kloof once before in the dark with friends and my son who was seven at the time. The leopard was not on the path (I don’t think) as I didn’t see any spoor. But I am glad I decided not to do it again this time anyway – I know they can be very grumpy – and very fast.

      Cheers hey

      S

Leave a Reply

