morning at Welbedacht

I have just spent a couple of days in the Cedarberg Mountains about 300 km north of Cape Town.  I arrived lafter dark because I had to take a detour and got up just after sunrise to paint this watercolour of the mountains at the end of the valley.  This is how it looked:

Welbedacht-1D

Here is how it looked before I put in the last strokes in the foreground:

Welbedacht-2D

The patterns in the sky were caused by ice-crystals forming on the page as I completed the wash which I think is quite fun.  For a few seconds it really was a smooth wash.  It was very cold there.  The colours were freezing in my palette and making this mushy icy stuff.  Till the sun came up and melted the ice which made the colours run.  Stuff I had not thought about.

I have other work I did which I will put up tomorrow all going to plan.  I have the family cold and right now I am going to have a hot bath and get into bed.

10 thoughts on “morning at Welbedacht

  1. Nice use of dry brushing in the foreground, Stephen. I really like the variation. The warm tree shape on the right is a nice touch and balances that warm ridge on the mountain tops. I like looking in on your landscapes…..a travelogue in watercolor. I read about being able to watercolor and put it in the freezer and get special effects. There were even beautiful examples in the article. I tried it. They were pretty when I pulled them out of the freezer, but lost the effect as they thawed on my kitchen table. I guess I didn’t leave them in the freezer long enough for the paper to dry or something.

    • Ah – there’s a thought – perhaps the trick is to thaw out slowly enough for the paint to stick – Last night I saw another painting that I put away wet that also has freeze patterns. Thanks Leslie, for the comments on the painting. I want to do these paintings again in the studio. S

    • heh heh – we are not so used to this weather hey? But we do have some really cold days in winter. It is OK if we have the right gear – I have these gloves with the fingers cut off with a mitten flap that I can pull over when I don’t need fingers which are really good to use in this sort of thing.

    • interesting hey? I guess this is fairly common up there if you paint out of doors in winter – it was totally unexpected – I didn’t realise it was that cold.

Leave a Reply

