watercolour of the pipe on a chilly evening – with an on-shore blowing

Today was not a particularly dynamic day but this afternoon I took my boys for a surf and also went out although the sea was still a bit wild from the storm we have just had.  I had couple of good waves.   Then I got out and packed my stuff away and sat on the dune and painted the mountains across the bay.  It was rather chilly and I had just got going when the sun went down.  I started the red peaks and when I looked up they were blue grey.  This was a bit of a rushed painting.   I wanted to show how the leaves on the seaward side of the bushes were all burned brown from the saltwater spray coming off the waves in the storm.

20090626pipeD

I cropped the picture of the painting to show the tiny pieces of masking tape I managed to tear off my paint box which I used to stick the watercolour paper to my sketch book because I did not have my usual kit with me.  I really would like to get more organised.   Maybe tomorrow I will have another chance there.

14 thoughts on “watercolour of the pipe on a chilly evening – with an on-shore blowing

  1. Just interested in how long this took for you to paint? You’ve captured the descending twilight, especially on the water. Reliving fond memories of sitting with my family, a ‘sundowner’ in one hand and the sun sinking in about 30 minutes at the same time every day.

    • By the time I had finished chatting with passers-by and got myself organised I had about 10 minutes before my boys came to fetch me. I did not plan the painting too well and got the bushes too wet to work with, also there are some clumps of beach-dune vegetation in the middle-ground that I could not capture for the same reason. But I was OK with the sea. I drew the mountains and perhaps should have just painted – next time. Sundowners is a great tradition. The sun disappeared behind a bank of cloud and showed briefly before disappearing behind table mountain. It would have been a great evening for people who were wrapped up warmly with a mug of something hot – S

      • I took my first lessons from a guy called Nicholas Galloway, in Swakopmund, Namibia. He had trained as an architect and had a crisp style I really liked. I met him at an exhibition of his work in one of the galleries there. He had these amazing paintings. One was a fish-eagle with a fish in its talons. Each of the feathers at the end of the wing was one smart stroke with a one-inch flat brush. It was just brilliant. I asked him how long the painting took to paint and he fixed me with a glittering eye and said “twenty years” – Neat hey? One day I will say that.

  2. Nice warm cool balance, swatch.
    If you can get them, the Arches blocks of watercolour are great because the edges are glued down and you don’t have to stretch them or pin them down.
    They have several qualities – hot pressed, cold pressed, rough and smooth.
    I like the cold pressed best – it’s the most forgiving – but you just have to try different papers until you get one you like.
    I’ve also tried their travel sketch books and they are quite good; they have a post card size. I quite often will get the 3 x 5 post card Strathmore also, but I caution against the Montval. I found it buckled too much and the colour does not absorb onto it evenly.
    Quality counts, in watercolour.
    K

    • Hi K – more really useful suggestions – thanks hey. I use Arches for almost all of my painting so I know it well. I like the cold-pressed though I have done some figures on hot-pressed which I find a whole different thing. I have tried other papers but have not been impressed with how they work for me. I have been buying big sheets and slicing them up for carrying around – a block would be a really good idea – next time I go to the art shop I will check the prices.

      I fully agree with your comment on quality. I use W&N artist quality colours even though they are about a million times more expensive than the Cotmans range for students.
      But it gets quite pricey.

  3. Love your paintings, I think such freedom in technique is hard to achieve, but you make it look easy. You live near some beautiful places, can’t even imagine how inspiring your environment must be!

Leave a Reply

