competitors and friends lying around listening to the prize giving after an adventure race

Feet make such beautiful patterns in light and shade, especially toes.  This has to be an ideal subject for the lightness of watercolour.  But the shapes in feet are quite intricate.  So this is definitely something worth working on.  The other night after a hectic day I was reading Claudia’s post about feet and decided to do a painting of the feet of these people lounging around after an adventure race.  This is always such a pleasant part of competing in these events.  

raceday2-d

I think this is making progress since the last one I posted.  The feet work.  There was dappled shade from the trees we were lying under and I would like to have a technique to capture the shade in a way that pulls the painting together.  Like that impressionist painter who painted the people drinking and chatting in the dappled light.   Who was that?  I have too many different shades of green.   I read that as humans we can distinguish between a far broader range of greens than any other colour.   (And women can percieve more saturated reds than men) – I suppose this is a red-herring on this post (groan).  I also have a sense that I should put in some more dark darks.  I will sleep on it some more and see what comes through.  The overwork alarm is bleeping.

And here is a final version:

raceday4-d

13 thoughts on “competitors and friends lying around listening to the prize giving after an adventure race

  1. This is coming along nicely. I’m starting to feel relaxed looking at it. Why is everyone barefoot? Did you make a special request or are shoes unpopular in S.A.?

  2. Hi Cecily – thanks hey – let me look at them some more.

    Hey Carol
    Well it was hot and we had run, swum through farm dams and ploughed through mud in our shoes. Also I suppose it is a South African thing. In many schools, kids don’t have to wear shoes till the 8th grade – which is cool. My son was able to go barefoot until a group of meddling parents, who thought the kids in the choir didn’t look sweet enough, insisted that they change the rule to make them wear shoes or these really ugly sandals – and that put an end to that.

  3. Did you start this all over again? Is there version one and version two, or is this a progression on the last painting? I probably would not have had a question about it, except the fellow in the white shirt – well, it was a dark shirt in the previous one. If it’s the same painting, how did you get that shirt colour removed and back to white? The feet are still stunningly great! Wish I could do that.
    I think the artist you may be thinking of is Renoir.
    K

  4. Hi K – yes this is version 2 – 2.0, I have the painting up in front of me as I work and have made some changes and I see another update. By the way have you ever tried to scrub colour out of watercolours? It has worked for me in the past. I put it under a hose in the garden and scrub with an old toothbrush. However I must say that everything that happens after wash #1 detracts from the freshness of a painting. This is why I like Charles Reid’s approach. S

  5. The feet are really nicely painted as is the rest of the piece. This is a tough one to determine the finish point I think. It has a great appeal to it just as it is.

  6. mmm – I think you are right – I have worked a little on some of the obvious anomalies like the purple shape, above the girl in the orange shirt, which is too warm and comes right forward. I will stick it on and move on I think.

  7. The feet are great. All the different shades of green are also working well here. You’re making beautiful use of the range. I think the artist you’re mentioning is Auguste Renoir.

    • Hey Fred – thanks for this input – this is valuable to me – I am pleased with the feet and will look at the greens again in a more positive light. Yeh – Renoir – thanks – I want to look up his work soon.

  8. You asked if I knew about washing the paper out – I’ve done it once, not very successfully, but found that the paper was too absorbent afterward.
    My sister is a great watercolourist and she often takes out colour that she finds too intense, or she discovers that she needs to bring a lighter element into an already dark area.
    In this case, she masks around the area she want to have lighter and then she scrubs it, as you say, with a tooth brush. I haven’t tried this – haven’t been doing watercolour lately, but she does it quite successfully.
    This is a beautiful painting.
    K

  9. Hi K – I have heard of this idea of masking and scrubbing. In the end I don’t think we can beat a fresh, painting without any overwork – or tricks – mmmm – the dream. I see you have been busy of late – S

Leave a Reply

