Figure painting

I have been reading Mel Stabin and Charles Reid, who have a quick, fast and loose approach to figures that is very beautiful.  But my paintings are slower and more precise, using glazes, more like the work of Elizabeth Kincaid.  I want to loosen up though.

Woman in high heels

I also think I am working too big.  This picture is 76X56 cm.  I want to still put in some background, which is what Charles Reid would say is a problem.  I am also working from someone else’s photos which is OK for now to develop technique.  I am busy with a Masters in Coaching and as soon as this is complete, I want to join a figures class.

Leave a Reply

